Monday, August 3, 2015

Neverending Beginnings

never ending beginningsMary Chris Escobar will be on tour July 6-August 3 with her novel Neverending Beginnings This contemporary romance is Groundhog Day meets My Best Friend’s Wedding. Readers who like women’s fiction by Meg Cabot, Emily Giffin and Allison Winn Scotch will enjoy this romantic comedy.  Kate is alarmed to find out that her best friend Amy is getting married after dating for only six months. Her alarm turns to shock when she learns that the groom-to-be is Kate's old college ex. As the big day approaches, Kate's inability to hide her feelings is threatening to ruin her friendship with Amy.  Kate’s last minute, vodka-fueled wedding toast has her wishing she could turn back the clock and make things right. Imagine her surprise when she wakes up the next day and finds out she can.  Forced to relive one of the most painful weeks of her life, Kate slowly works to repair the damage she has done. In the process, she learns a lot about herself and the cynically charming best man, Ben. Please visit CLP Blog Tours for all the tour stops!



Excerpt: Excerpt 1 (968 words)

“So, Katherine, another round before our big performance?” Ben asked, referring to the toasts and bringing my attention back to the present again. Somehow, I had managed to glide through dinner plus wine.
“Sounds like a plan.” I felt a little shaky as we made our way to the bar. Nerves, I was sure. Just one more drink couldn’t hurt.
Halfway through my second drink the DJ gave Ben the signal: one more song before the toasts. I took a deep breath. My toast was taken from one of those terribly cliché books. I added in a couple of details about Amy to make it more personal; and, of course, steered clear of the whole having dated the groom issue. I felt pretty good about what I had ultimately come up with. I made note cards and even practiced in front of the mirror a couple of times, determined not to let Amy down. The music stopped.
“All right folks, I’ve got a couple of people here to share some thoughts with the bride and groom,” announced the DJ.
It was time. Ben was up first, so I kept my seat at the bar.
“So, I’ve known Jack for a few years, and I’ve witnessed some of his biggest accomplishments. Three years ago, we finished our MBAs together. Jack went on to get a brilliant management position. After only two and a half years of hard work, he was recently promoted to vice president of his division. However, of all these accomplishments, I know that the one Jack is most proud of is his marriage to Amy today. Now, admittedly, I don’t know Amy that well, but I know she must be amazing because somehow she has inspired from my friend, not only a proposal, but also a wedding within months. Those of you who know Jack understand; he doesn’t do anything fast. This is a man who thinks through tying his shoes every morning.” Some laughter from the crowd. “In fact, I was a little worried there was something suspicious going on; maybe Amy had whipped up some gypsy love potion and baked it in the brownies.” More laughter from the crowd. “Admittedly, I looked for signs to make sure this wasn’t the case. But I didn’t have to look far. As many of you know, Jack’s father had a heart attack a few weeks ago and had to have surgery. He’s much better and here with us today, thankfully, but it was a tough time for the family. I went to visit at the hospital several times, and each time Amy was there. This is, I remind you, less then three weeks before her wedding, that she has had barely three months to plan ...”
Shit. I hadn’t even known. The one thing that always stuck out in my mind about Jack was his close relationship with his father. It was admirable, almost inspiring. Amy hadn’t even mentioned the heart attack. Then again, why would she have? I would just have found a way to turn it into another reason the wedding shouldn’t happen. What was I doing? Why did this all matter so much to me? They were happy, they were right for each other. Amy said so, and no one’s family seemed upset—hell, they’re just happy to all be alive today.
“Kate, you’re up.” Ben nudged me. I had been too lost in my thoughts to even realize that he had finished, much less had time to return to his spot next to me at the bar.
I stood up and walked to the table where the DJ was waiting with a microphone. From the look on his face, I gathered it was taking me a while to get there. I dug in my purse for my notes as I walked across the dance floor. Car keys, wallet, lipstick, car keys, wallet, lipstick, car keys … no note cards. Shit. Where were they? The bar, I left them on the bar after looking over them. All the way in the back of the room. Shuffles and whispers began to spread through the tables. Shit. I had to get on with it. I took the microphone and turned to look out into the mirage of white linen and lilacs. The faces in front of me blurred.
“Um, hi. I’m Kate, one of the bridesmaids. Um, you see I have this toast all planned, but it seems that I left my note cards at the bar …”
Laughter from the crowd; OK, I could do this.
“So, I’ve known Amy for almost five years and Jack for, let’s see, I guess about six or seven ... or, wow – maybe almost eight ... maybe. Anyway, Amy and I met after college— and Jack and I actually dated in college …”
Silence. There was a tunneled din in my ears, the one where you can hear yourself talk, but your voice sounds like you are talking into a cardboard paper towel roll like you did when you were a kid.
“So, um, let me just say that until just now I didn’t even know that Jack’s dad had a heart attack. I’m so sorry, Mr. Cannon ... and Jack. And Amy, I hate that you felt you couldn’t tell me. I’m sorry I’ve been such a bitch … I mean, I’m sorry I haven’t been so nice about …”
A tap on my shoulder. Ben with my note cards and a very concerned look on his face. The whole room was swaying as I reached out for them. The whirring had become so loud I couldn’t even hear what Ben was saying to me. My eyelids were heavy and the room had started to spin so fast that I searched for something to hold on to. I saw Ben reach out for me. Everything went black.



Review rating: 4 LIGHTNING BOLTS

Review: Neverending Beginnings was a fun read.  If you've ever had a bad week that seems to be on repeat, Kate has you beat- because she literally has had a repeat bad week. But she also gets a chance to learn about herself, get a do over, and figure her life out.  It's the perfect summer breach read, and I found myself engaged in the story pretty quickly. I enjoyed Kate's perspective and how she tried to handle the same situation differently each time it happens. She not only gets a shot to give things her all, but she finds her path in life and jumps on it. I haven't read anything from this author previously, but I'm interested to do so after this one.

Neverending Beginnings is a great mix- I love this type of trope, where the character keeps reliving the same day over and over.  Definitely glad I got a chance to read and review this book.
CLP Blog Tours
mary chris escobarAuthor Bio: Award-winning author Mary Chris writes women’s fiction. She was destined to write romance from a young age (as a child, her stuffed animals always got their happily-ever-afters). She lives in Richmond, Virginia in a renovated parking garage with her husband. Find her on her website, on Twitter or just about anywhere good coffee or craft beer is served.

Book Links

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Neverending-Beginnings-ebook/dp/B00AV8T6H4 Apple iBooks https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/neverending-beginnings/id591634395?mt=11 Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/neverending-beginnings-mary-chris-escobar/1114142721 Smashwords https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/269529 Kobo https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/books/Neverending-Beginnings

Social Media Links

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mary-Chris-Escobar/592640960763303 Twitter http://twitter.com/marychris_e Instagram https://instagram.com/marychris_e/ Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893031.Mary_Chris_Escobar a Rafflecopter giveaway  

New Release: Kaycee's Tattered Spirit




Title: Kaycee's Tattered Spirit
Series: Tattered #1
Author: K.C. Rice
Genre: Erotica
 Release Date: August 3, 2015



Blurb

What do you do when you find yourself in love with two men at the same time? One being your husband the other a faceless stranger.

That’s what Kaycee wonders to herself, when she meets Mason on an online media sight. Things just seem to click between them, they soon become fast friends. But it doesn’t stop there, she’s not quite sure how it happened, she didn’t intend for it to, but she’s fallen in love.

Their chats become erotic and fire burns deep inside her, awakening a side of her she never knew even existed. Mason brings out her true feelings and desires, making her realize what she’s been missing.

But what about Shane, her husband? Their love was a fairy tale, until he became controlling and abusive. Kaycee once again becomes tattered and bruised by Shane’s actions over the years and now as his demeanor worsens all the rips and bruises, she’s experienced to her spirit deepen.


She’s ready to make a break, but fearful of what will come if she steps away from the only life she’s ever known. Kaycee must decide. What should she do? Where should she go? Will Mason be there for her and with her in the long run, or will she be left alone?






Purchase Links

TO BE ADDED






Author Bio


K.C. Rice, known to her family and friends as Kathy Rice, is a self-proclaimed sophisticated red-neck, born and raised in Frankfort, KY. Married twenty-six years to her first love, mother of three, and Grandmother, "Nana" of two. She enjoys the simple things in life. She's always had an overactive imagination as a child, and has yet to outgrow it. She loves spending time in front of a blank canvas, painting landscape scenes with oils. And just recently decided to share her imagination with others, by trying her hand in creative writing.

Her first book, Deadly Passion, debut on June 18, 2014. A suspense romance, about a homicide detective trying to solve a triple murder case, a sexy, unexpected, unwanted partner, and her own death threats. All while trying to keep her libido in check, which is very difficult considering her body refuses to cooperate. When she decides to become human bate for the murderer, has she bit off more than she bargained for? Can her sexy new partner save her?


Book 2- Anguish- Wil's Story, Went live September 9, 2014- the sequel to Deadly Passion- This story depicts Wil's past and present struggles, as he fights to prove to himself and those he's lost that he isn't a failure. He takes it upon himself to go on a covert operation, in an attempt to rescue a brother in arms - in the process does he find himself or lose everything.



Author Links

Series Sale: Try Again

http://www.amazon.com/Score-One-Love-Sports-Romances-ebook/dp/B011HU7EMI


Title: Wherever You Will Go
Series: Try Again #1
Author: Stephanie Smith
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 Release Date: August 4, 2014



Blurb

Brooke Willis had everything she ever wanted: a happy marriage, volunteer placement at the art gallery, and the promise of starting a family with the man of her dreams.

Saxon Reed had everything he ever thought he needed: a successful career, nice cars, expensive apartment, and more money than he knew what to do with.

After losing her husband Brooke insists on taking over his company to keep his dreams alive. Struggling in an industry she knows nothing about, Brooke turns to Saxon, her husband’s best friend and business partner, for guidance and support. Their mutual grief, and Saxon’s need to look after his best friend’s wife, creates a connection beyond just business.

Can Brooke take over the company and find a new life without saying goodbye to the past? Can Saxon protect and care for Brooke without scaring her away?

What happens when your heart doesn’t listen to your head? When lines are crossed and boundaries are pushed?

“Life goes on, whether you choose to move forward and take a chance in the unknown or stay behind, locked in the past, thinking of what could've been. I don’t want to live in the past anymore. I’m so lonely; there’s nothing for me here.”








Purchase Links

99c

AMAZON US / UK / AU / CA





Title: Whatever You Do
Series: Try Again #2
Author: Stephanie Smith
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 Release Date: January 14, 2015



Blurb

How do you trust someone who is everything you’re trying to avoid?

Harper Lindell is having a bad day. You know, if a bad day consists of getting fired from your cushy job and then catching your boyfriend red handed playing hide the salami.

Sick of meeting the same guys over and over, Harper decides to try her luck at Internet dating. How bad could it be? Right?

Tate Washington wasn’t looking to meet anyone. Still dealing with the consequences of his one serious relationship, all he’s interested in is revamping his family’s behind-the-times café.

He didn’t plan on seeing the beautiful receptionist from Argo again, walking into his life to use his café as a dating hub, and using him as a BFF.

Can Harper really trust Tate, who is everything she thinks she needs to steer clear of?

Can Tate wait while Harper works through her insecurities and fears?


ADD TO GOODREADS





Purchase Links

99c

AMAZON US / UK / AU / CA
iBOOKS / B&N / KOBO




Coming Soon


Title: How My Heart Breaks
Series: Try Again #3
Author: Stephanie Smith
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 Release Date: September 3, 2015



Blurb

Is love really enough to put the past where it belongs?

Lana Washington chooses to hide. She hides from life. Hides from her abusive ex-husband. From the fact that everyone she loves eventually she loses, but when Lana’s house catches fire she is forced out of the predictable comfort her life has become.

Jake Weston had led a simple life, ever since he was called home from war for a family emergency four years ago, leaving only him and Hallie. Then one phone call throws his neatly-pieced world upside down.

Jake wasn’t supposed to be there. This wasn’t his problem. But as soon as those piercing green eyes focused in on him, he knew he was done for.

Can Jake hold onto his secret, all the while still holding onto Lana?

Will Lana be able to let go of the past and the hurt that binds her to her lonely existence?

Or will one small white lie ruin it all?









Author Bio


Stephanie is a Happily Ever After addict.

Loving mushy romance, books, movies and music since she was young, and constantly daydreaming up stories and plots, Stephanie decided to put them on paper.

Living in South Australia with her own alpha male and two princesses she spends her days reading, writing and playing with the girls out on their property.



Author Links

AMAZON




Giveaway

Friday, July 31, 2015

Cover Reveal: Letting Go




Title: Letting Go
Series: The Garage Series #1
Author: Holly Renee
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 Release Date: August 31, 2015



Blurb

When Kat was forced to leave the only home she had ever known due to her brother's secrets, she wasn't prepared for what was waiting for her in Tennessee or the choices it would force her to make.

Kat instantly knew she didn't like Blake Reagan. He was cocky, stubborn, and infuriating. What Kat didn't understand was why she couldn't stop thinking about him or the way he made her feel.

The last thing Blake expected was for Kat Archer to storm into his world and turn it upside down. He thought he had her pegged from the beginning, but she destroyed everything he thought he knew. Blake was willing to fight to push his way into Kat's heart, but she put up a wall at every turn as she clung to her past.

If she stayed, she'd risk the only family she had left. If she left, she'd lose Blake and every piece of her heart that he'd managed to steal.








Pre-order Links

AMAZON US / UK







Author Bio

Bookaholic, firm believer in grand gestures, and obsessed with happily ever afters.

Holly Renee is from the small town of Maryville, TN where she was born and raised. She currently lives with her husband and fur baby, Luna. (Yes. She was named after Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter.)

Holly Renee is the author of her debut novel Letting Go.

During the day, Holly spends her time as a nurse, but once her shift ends, she falls deep into her passion of reading and writing.






Author Links

Cover Reveal: Onslow Boys




Title: Onslow Boys Boxed Set
Series: Summer #1.5, 2.5, 3.5
Author: C.J. Duggan
Genre: Contemporary New Adult
Cover Design: Keary Taylor at Indie Designs
 Release Date: September 1, 2015



Blurb

For the first time in one collection

The ONSLOW BOYS Boxed Set

This SUMMER fall in love with an ONSLOW BOY

INCLUDES EXCLUSIVE FOREVER SUMMER TEASER CHAPTERS

 
STAN

Stan Remington is the go-to man; what he doesn’t know about Onslow means one of two things: it doesn’t exist or it hasn’t happened yet.

The wild and annoying doctor’s daughter spends her summer family holidays at Remington’s Caravan Park, and normally she’s not Stan’s problem. But then she sabotages his planned weekend escape. Now Stan finds himself not only caretaking the caravan park on his own, but also responsible for Bel.

Just the two of them. Under the one roof. For one long, long weekend.
 
MAX

Melanie Sheehan didn’t set out to be a liar, but her last lie landed her in big trouble. Now Mel must suffer a harsh consequence – she’s not allowed out of her father’s sight.

Max, the new head barman at the Onslow Hotel, is the one boy Mel has been crushing on since forever. At a time when Mel plans to go on the straight and narrow, she is about to tell the biggest lie of all. Will Max be able to handle the fiery farm girl or should he be considered the last boy in Onslow to trust?
 
RINGER

Ringo ‘Ringer’ James has a no-strings-attached policy.

Love them, leave them, and remain the eternal bachelor.

After a summer in which every one of his mates has succumbed to settling down, or so it seemed, Ringer is on the lookout for a quick exit. Having had enough of the stomach-turning love fest witnessed over the past three months, Ringer jumps at the opportunity to help out his mate, Max, by heading to Max’s dad’s property for a working holiday.

It’s just what he’s looking for. A remote, dusty homestead in Ballan, with only hard work, a cold beer and a comfy bed to worry about – no women.

Until Miranda Henry.

The privately educated daughter of his boss has returned home from overseas and things are about to get very complicated, very fast.

Warning: sexual references, and occasional coarse language.




Pre-order Link







Available Now


AMAZON US / UK / AU




Author Bio


C.J Duggan is a number one internationally bestselling Australian author of seven independent titles of her popular New Adult Summer series. In addition to her chart-topping indie novels, C.J is set to publish two titles with Hachette, Australia with her brand-new Paradise Series in 2015 (Paradise City and Paradise Road).

C.J lives with her husband in a rural border town of New South Wales, Australia. When she isn't writing books about swoony boys and 90s pop culture you will find her renovating her hundred-year-old Victorian homestead or annoying her local travel agent for a quote to escape the chaos.

The 'Summer Series'
The Boys of Summer (December 2012)
Stan (October 2014)
An Endless Summer (July 2013)
Max (February 2015)
That One Summer (December 2013)
Ringer (March 2014)
Forever Summer (December 2015)

The 'Paradise Series'
Paradise City (April 28th, 2015)
Paradise Road (August 28th, 2015)




Author Links

Giveaway

New Release: Midnight Moonrising




Title: Midnight Moonrising
Series: Moonrising #1
Author: K.S. Haigwood & Anne Conley
Genre: Urban Fantasy Romance
 Release Date: July 31, 2015



Blurb

Mena wants the Master Vampire of Montgomery, Alabama, but the wolf inside her wants the homicide detective working the case of the man she murdered.





Links to Buy

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU







Excerpt

With everyone thinking I was angry, I was taking a wild guess that it would be at least thirty minutes before anyone realized I was gone. That was a good head start. From the vague vibe I was feeling from Jess and the other traitors, I was looking at covering a distance of about four miles. I ran that nearly every morning, and the time it took to get there would allow my wolf and me time to figure out what we were going to do when we got there.

Cutting the bitch was what my wolf wanted to do, and I couldn't honestly say that I wasn't on board with that plan, but I was smart enough to know that I couldn't take on eight werewolves on my own. I would have to find their hideout and come back with my pack. Bringing Phoenix and his clan to watch my back in case any of my wolves were really on Jessica's side was a smart thing to do, so I would let them come, too, not that I would really get a choice in the matter; I doubted he would stay behind even if I begged him to.

A loud clatter had my head whipping around to look behind me again. An aluminum trash can lay on its side, its contents spilling into the street. A tabby cat peeked around the edge of the torn trash bag and I exhaled in relief. I was a sad case, indeed. I laughed at myself. I was not used to being the monster.

"I aim to change that, Mena."

I rolled my eyes at my wolf. "You just be you and let me be me and we'll get along just fine."

Soft laughter filled my head and I had to smile. I had to admit that I liked her, regardless of how much trouble she was causing me with Phoenix. At least we had come to a compromise. I didn't know how well said compromise was going to work out, or even if it would at all, but I was willing to try. Everyone deserved a shot at happiness, even with as insane as our case may be.

As I turned my head back around to continue on my journey, I ran smack-dab into the hard chest of a man. He was in shadow, so I couldn't see his face. Stumbling back, I attempted to get my balance, but his arms closed tightly around my body, jerking me to him and trapping my arms down at my sides so I couldn't move.

Struggling against his solid hold on me, I opened my mouth to let out a scream, but he twisted me around and clamped a hand over my mouth so fast that I didn't know what was happening until I was being pulled backward, away from the security of the streetlights that lined the suburban road.

I raised my knee up then brought my foot down hard on the toe of his shoe. He let out a muffled grunt, but continued to drag me into the shadows.

This had to be one of the werewolves. The strength alone told me that. They had to have been watching my house, just waiting for me to leave. This bastard was going to kill me if I didn't do something.

My wolf stirred under my skin. She wanted out and it was the first time since I'd been bitten that I agreed with that plan. With only a little more than human strength and quick reflexes, it wasn't possible for me to handle a grown male werewolf on my own.

My final option, before letting my wolf free, was try to at least injure him. I hoped that would be enough to make him loosen his grip on me enough so I could run. If he gave chase, I would have to concede and let my wolf take over.

Gripping the dagger tighter in my palm, I rotated my wrist and drove the blade into his side as hard as I could. An ear-piercing ululation erupted from his throat and he let go of me. I didn't wait or look back. I ran as fast as my legs would carry me, adrenaline and my wolf giving me the speed and strength to push my muscles past what a human would be able to endure.

"Mena… Mena!" I heard the cry behind me, but my mind wasn't registering anything except panic and the need to get as far away from my attacker as possible. "Mena—wait! It's me…" A strangled groan had me slowing. "…it's… it's Phoenix. I—I'm so sorry, Mena."

I froze, not wanting to look back at the man, terrified that what he'd spoken was true. If it was—if I turned and saw those ice-blue eyes staring back at me, it would destroy any trust I had ever had in him.

"Please, Mena, I never meant to hurt you. I was only trying to scare you so you would realize what a stupid stunt going off on your own to find the killers was. What were you thinking?"

The blood rushed through my veins at an impossible speed, and fury washed over me in waves as I stood there trying to decide whether to walk away or allow my wolf to rip Phoenix's head off. She was all for the second option.

I heard him cough, and then groan in agony. I imagined he was pulling the dagger out of whatever organ I had been lucky enough to hit. There was a lot of heavy, ragged breathing and two more guttural-sounding coughs. It appeared as though I had hit a lung. Too bad it wasn't his heart! I wasn't sure stabbing him in the heart with a silver blade would kill him, but I would have put money on a bet that it would have been a hell of a lot more painful.

I turned my head to glare at him, but the hatred I had expected to feel wasn't there. He had fallen to his knees, and his head was bent, his eyes focused on the bright red stain spreading across his new shirt.

Shaking my head, I looked up to the sky and asked, "Why me?" After receiving no answer, I sighed and began the one-hundred-meter walk back to Phoenix.







K.S. Haigwood


Kristie Haigwood (a.k.a. K.S. Haigwood) is currently writing her 10th novel. She lives in Arkansas, US. She is the mother of 2 awesome kids and 2 great dogs. She is happily married to her soulmate who thinks reading is a solid waste of time. Opposites attract. Kristie’s works include ‘Save My Soul’, ‘Hell’s Gift’, ‘Good Side of Sin’, ‘Eternal Island’, ‘Eternal Immortality’ 'Eternal Illusion' ‘Accepting the Moon’ and 'Midnight Moonrising'. ‘My Sweet Purgatory’ and 'Andromeda's Reign are releasing soon. 



Author Links

FACEBOOK
BLOG
FANCLUB



Anne Conley


Anne has written her entire life and has the boxes of angst-filled journals and poetry to prove it. She's been writing for public consumption for the last four years. Currently she is writing three romance series. In Stories of Serendipity, she explores real people living real lives in small town Texas in a contemporary romance setting. In The Four Winds, she chronicles God's four closest archangels, Uriel, Gabriel, Raphael, and Michael, falling in love and becoming human. In Pierce Securities, she gives us Ryan, Evan, Miriam, Zack, Quinten, and Simon. She lives in rural East Texas with her husband and children in her own private oasis, where she prides herself in her complete lack of social skills, choosing instead to live with the people inside her head.



Author Links

FACEBOOK
GOODREADS
PINTEREST



Giveaway