Monday, September 1, 2014

Excerpt: Please Pretty Lights





Blurb: 



It's September when good girl Via Sorenson stumbles into a Seattle strip club, drunk and alone on her twenty-first birthday. Matt and Nick--best friends, bandmates, and bouncers--do their best to shield her from their sadistic cocaine-trafficking boss, Carlos. They don't realize her daddy issues come with a forty-million-dollar trust fund and a legacy she would do anything to escape.
She is actually Violetta Rabbotino, who had been all over the news ten years earlier when her father, an acclaimed abstract artist, came home in a rage, murdered her mother, then turned the gun on himself. Young Violetta was spared, hidden behind the family Christmas tree, veiled by the mysticism of its pretty lights whose unadulterated love captivated and calmed her.
Now, desperate to shed her role as orphaned victim, Via stage dives into a one-hundred-day adventure with Matt and Nick, the bassist and drummer of popular nineties cover band Obliviot. The rock-and-roll lifestyle is the perfect distraction--until she is rattled by true love. As Christmas looms closer, her notorious past becomes undeniable. How will she ever untangle herself from her twisted string of pretty lights?

NOTE: My review will post later this week! Almost done! 

In the meantime, check out an excerpt!


***Via
Via leaned against the side of the 7-Eleven and pounded her third mini bottle of chardonnay. After leaving the Space Needle, she had walked around the same block three times, past that same Pink Elephant Car Wash, three times. She couldn’t find her car to save her life, which was proof she had no business behind the wheel anyway. She had called a cab company, but they could only take her as far as the West Seattle ferry terminal. If she were to walk onto the ferry, she would have to go to the upper deck and just knew she would run into people from church. And she didn’t want to go home anyway. Her chest felt toasty warm.
She scarfed down her last mini powdered donut and threw away the wrapper. It was a sign, an actual, literal sign. In the next parking lot over, the Hotties marquee changed colors for the two-hundredth time—hot pink to purple to white, and then red, red, red, and then hot pink to purple to white. The letters flashed, “Gallery Night. She’s a Masterpiece. Amateur Night. Win $750.”
She had nowhere else to be. Screw it. Why not? Before she’d started dating Dan, she and her college roommates had often gone dancing at the Blue Tonic, a bar just over the Canadian border where the drinking age was just nineteen. Its big dance floor had two dancing platforms, each surrounded by a gilded cage awash in spotlights. Toward the end of the night, the bouncers invited a few girls to go inside and dance a song or two. Ceremoniously opening the side doors, the bouncers escorted the chosen ones inside. There was no lock. The bars were wide enough that the girls could climb out at any time. Via had gone in often and never gotten out early—not once. Drinks could wait, her bladder could wait, flirting could wait. A fire alarm could wait, because her time there had felt precious and fleeting, and her soul had wanted to stay and dance forever. Rarely making eye contact with the men watching her, she’d felt their lustful stares. She had fed on their energy and lit up from the inside out.
This is how it is supposed to be, she had realized, lost in the lights. Her opera-obsessed parents had chosen this life for her the day they had chosen the name Violetta over Brunhilde. The day they had chosen Verde over Wagner. They could have named her after a Norse warrior woman who rode a flying horse and kicked ass, but instead they’d chosen an Italian slut who coughed blood into a hanky. She could have gone by Hilde or Hil. Maybe she could have been brave. A badass.
The Hotties sign drew her in even more. The flashing neon began to morph, then hum and buzz. She blinked. Wait, she realized. Wait, she knew those lights. Their unadulterated love blazed toward her. They danced and shimmered just for her. They vibrated their epiphany. Pretend, pretend, they urged. Don’t you remember? The recollection teased her, but retreated before she could fully recognize it. Instead she softened her focus, and let them blur and buzz and snap her into a new state of being.
She tucked her last mini bottle into her purse for later. While crossing over into the Hotties parking lot she tripped, but caught herself. She just laughed it off, too wasted to care. Should she take her mother’s ring off? She wondered. No, it would be safest right where it was. She skimmed her thumb back and forth over it for luck, for courage. She didn’t let herself pause at the tinted double doors for fear she would change her mind. Just one night dancing. Lost under the lights. She couldn’t stand being alone with herself, so she would just be somebody else. Just for the night.






Author Bio

Ina Zajac is an award-winning journalist, avid people watcher, and lover of quirk and contrast. Her writing is heavily influenced by her fascination with music, art, and her hometown of Seattle. 
Social Media Links:
Website: 
http://www.inazajac.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InaZajacWrites
Twitter: @InaZajac

Find the Book!

Amazon: amzn.to/1rDB4hv
Praise for Please, Pretty Lights:
Dark, gritty, and intoxicating...exactly how I like it. Please, Pretty Lights, a poignant portrait of music, drugs and relationships, is harrowing at times and masterly written. It's easily one of my favorite books of the year. – Marni Mann, author of Memoirs Aren’t Fairytales

Zajac is a strong, STRONG writer with a touch
that can be poetic or gritty, as the situation requires.
—Conrad Wesselhoeft, author of Adios, Nirvana and Dirt Bikes, Drones,
and Other Ways to Fly




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Review: Dragon Ugly


Book Title: Dragon Ugly by Selena Illyria  
Publisher: Etopia Press
Reviewer: Crystal

Review Rating: 4 LIGHTNING BOLTS

BLURB:

Can a dragon shifter give more than just hot sex?

After Brent’s New Year’s fling with his friends Fletcher and Tor—and Tor’s mate Louisa—Brent is determined to find his own mate. His dragon wants him to find their mate, too, and if Brent doesn’t find a way to locate her soon, his dragon will take matters into his own talons. And that could spell trouble.

Wolf shifter Carissa has no desire to live up to her wild musician mother and artistic father’s vision of free love and sex parties. She’s buried her sexual desires and focused on building up her aromatherapy store, Scentify, no distractions allowed. Until she meets Brent. The sexy dragon shifter makes her burn with suppressed need. The only problem? His dragon wants Carissa, too. And pursuing the dominant dragon would be playing with fire.

Giving in to his dragon saps Brent of his focus and energy. Things are turning ugly—dragon ugly. How can he bond with his mate when his dragon only wants sex?


Review:

This is a book that made me take notice. I never thought about these two shifters getting together. Brent is a dragon-shifter and Carissa is a wolf-shifter. I didn't know what was going on between these two at first. I know they were having a hard time with their inner beast. I just didn't know why they were in pain and why Carissa was having a hard time being around other shifters. That was until I got more into her relationship with her parents.

The title of this book really goes along with the story and it might take awhile but you find out what it means. Brent knows that Carissa is his mate and so does his dragon. His dragon just wants the sex and wants out every time. He wants to get through this on his own but his body can't take it and his friends call his parents to help out with this mess.

 I wanted to read this book because it was different and had to see how a wolf and dragon could work out being mates. I did like the cover and that was another reason that i had to read it. I didn't read the first one of this series and I did feel that I didn't know what was going on with the dragon. I will warn you that there is one scene that is a menage between a M/F/M. It adds spice to the story and makes it even better.

Amazon

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Blitz: Someone Like You





You can't program love…or can you?

Kayleigh Renshaw has come up with the idea for a brilliant "compatibility app," a new kind of matchmaking software. All she needs is a programmer to help her bring the idea to market…and she knows exactly who she wants. But Niall Walsh—a code whiz and her former best friend—has been avoiding her since he returned from Afghanistan. In spite of their history, and some sparks that go beyond friendship, he's proving reluctant…. Is it her, or is something darker holding him back?


PRE-ORDER

“I don’t need to be around other people,” he said drily, his gaze never leaving hers. “Except you.”
Heated blood rushed through her. That was treacherous thinking—for both of them. “But if you used the app, you’d find the right girlfriend. Want to be with her. You can’t waste your time on someone like me. I’ll never be more than a friend.”
He closed the distance between them in one stride and eyed her. “Sure about that?”
And suddenly, he pulled her into his arms, his strong body enfolding her. His lips lowered then paused, his heated eyes questioning. Was he waiting for her to refuse him?
Her bones melted against him, and her resolve to keep things professional crumbled. She wanted this kiss as badly as she’d ever wanted anything. She stretched up on her tiptoes and heard him groan as his lips swept down and captured hers, the caress as feather soft as the dragonfly’s wings.
He pulled the band around her bun loose, and her hair tumbled down her back, his hands burying themselves in it. When he deepened their kiss, his mouth slanting firmly against hers, her skin heated. Their hearts pounded together, and she breathed in his minty breath, tasting the strawberries they’d eaten earlier. Wanting him closer, she traced his bunching back muscles, loving their hardness and strength.
When his lips left hers and traveled along her jaw, she fitted herself against him closer still, needing to feel all of him. As his lips slid along her earlobe then down her neck, the world tilted and spun madly in the wrong direction.
She cupped his face and brought it back to hers, wanting his mouth again, the caress deepening into a demanding kiss that left her breathless and clutching on to his shoulders when her knees weakened.
At last he stopped, and they stared at each other, chests heaving, breath coming in fits and starts.
“Still sure?” he murmured, his eyes searching hers. Struck dumb, she nodded automatically, her gesture making him scowl, disappointment in his eyes. When he strode out of the pavilion, her fingers traced her swollen lips
How had she let that happen?

Karen Rock is an award-winning YA and adult contemporary author. She holds a master’s degree in English and worked as an ELA instructor before becoming a full-time author.  With her co-author, Joanne Rock, she’s penned the CAMP BOYFRIEND series with Spencer Hill Press under the pseudonym J.K. Rock. She also writes contemporary romance for Harlequin Enterprises. Her wholesome romance, Heartwarming novels have won the 2014 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence and the 2014 Golden Quill Contest. When she's not writing, Karen loves scouring estate sales for vintage books, cooking her grandmother's family recipes and hiking. She lives in the Adirondack Mountain region with her husband, daughter, and two Cavalier King cocker spaniels who have yet to understand the concept of "fetch" though they know a lot about love. To find out about her upcoming releases, appearance and latest news, visit http://www.karenrock.com or follow her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/karenrockwrites or Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/karenrock5!
She’d love to connect with you!

WEBSITE ☆ FACEBOOK ☆  TWITTER ☆  GOODREADS ☆  PINTEREST

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Bring on the Heat Tour: Interview with Katie Rose




Bring On the Heat
The Boys of Summer # 1
By: Katie Rose
Releasing August 26th, 2014
Loveswept


Blurb  
In Katie Rose’s irresistible battle of wits, a case of mistaken identity lands a female fan in bed with a sexy superstar—and in major-league trouble.

House-sitting for a rich and famous friend has its perks, and Darcy Hamel isn’t shy about enjoying them. Especially when it means scoring a ticket to an exclusive fashion show hosted by the New Jersey Sonics. An avid baseball fan, Darcy has always dreamed of meeting the team—especially the starting pitcher whose body is as hot as his fastball. But there’s a catch. The gala is by invitation only. To get behind the velvet rope, mild-mannered Darcy will have to pose as party girl Lydia Logan.

Schmoozing is one of the downsides of fame, but Chase Westbrook knows how to liven up even the dullest event. And nothing spices a night up more than a beautiful socialite with a naughty reputation. What Chase doesn’t expect is a hint of sweetness beneath her sultry fa├žade. Flirtation turns to seduction and leaves him aching for more. Chase just doesn’t know who the real Lydia is: the spoiled tease crying foul over some missing diamonds or the alluring woman making a play for his heart.



Buy Links





Please help me welcome Katie Rose for an interview! These are always fun ways to get to know an author!



tell me about yourself, and your writing.

How long have you been writing? How many published books do you have, and what genres?

A. I’ve published 12 historical romances, several short stories, and one novella. My first contemporary romance will be published in August 2014, and the second one in January 2015.

Do you write in multiple genres or just one? If just one, do you ever consider straying outside your genre?

A. I love a lot of genres, and would like to do women’s fiction as well.

Are you a plotter or do you write from the seat of your pants?
A. Both. I start with an idea, and then write the first couple of chapters. Then I sit down and do a synopsis, with the beginning middle and end. But I allow for surprises; when a character says or does something that I haven’t planned, if it’s good I go with it.

What is a typical writing day like for you?
A. I used to write more on the weekends, but now I get up around 7 AM and write until my day job begins.

Who do you love to read? Favorite authors, favorite books?
A. I’m an eclectic reader. I will go on to Amazon and just scan titles until I see something that interests me. I love a lot of the classics like TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD, I also love Grisham, Nora Roberts, etc.

What is something you'd like to accomplish in your writing career next year?
A. I would like to pick up the pace with the sports romances that I’m writing for Random House, and make each one stronger than the last.

If you could have one paranormal ability, what would it be?
A. I would like to help heal people. I have a little bit of psychic ability that I am developing, but I would love to be able to do Reiki or something healing.

If you could keep a mythical/ paranormal creature as a pet, what would you have?
A. My daughter and I are taking care of a stray cat who sees ghosts. She’s our link to the other world.

Tell us a little about your latest release.
A. BRING ON THE HEAT is a baseball romance about a girl next-door who gets invited to a charity event and meets her dream man, the hot pitcher for the New Jersey Sonics. He mistakes her for a rich party girl even though she tries to tell him who she is. She wakes up in his bed the next morning, mortified, and sneaks out but she leaves behind her employers’ fabulous diamond earrings. . .


What is something that you absolutely can't live without? (Other than family members)
A. Books, and my best friend.

Could you ever co author a book with someone? If so, who would you choose, and what would you write?
A. I to bounce ideas off my daughter and my best friend. But I don’t think I could write with someone else.

If you could spend a day with anyone from history, dead or alive, who would it be, and what would you do? What would you ask them?

A. 

What are some of your other hobbies outside of writing?
A. I try to move around when I’m not behind the desk, so horses, golf, gardening.

What is something you've always wanted to do, but haven't done yet. Why not?
A. Nothing I can think of.

If you were on the staff to have a book adapted to movie, what would you pick?
A. BRING ON THE HEAT would make a great movie!

What is a talent you wish you had, but don't? 
A. I wish I could sing!

             Favorite color?
A. Red, but I wear green because of my hair.

Weather: Hot or cold?
A. Both!

Favorite place to read?
A. Bed.

Favorite meal
A. Prime rib.

Favorite non-alcoholic drink.
A. Sparkling water

If you could travel anywhere and do anything, no limits or money holding you back, where would you go?
A. Africa. Would love to see that. 




Author Info
Award-winning historical author Katie Rose makes her contemporary debut with the Boys of Summer novels, Bring on the Heat and Too Hot to Handle, which combine Katie’s true loves: baseball and romance! When not watching baseball, Katie is at her lake house in New Jersey, hard at work on her next book.
Author Links


Rafflecopter Giveaway ($25 eGiftcard to Book Retailer of Choice, Loveswept Mug and Tote)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

New Release! Black Lies

BL_BuyLinks

Black_Lies_Official_Cover
This Book is a STAND ALONE
((( Books will Release at $2.99 for the week, then will go up to $3.99 )))
*** See Teasers, Excerpts & Giveaway at blackliesbook.com ***
f8b0a-goodreads-badge-add-38px113

BL_Synopsis
Brant: Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years. Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.
Lee: Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his cock. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not. I love 2 men. I want 2 men. If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t BL_teaser
blacklies

BL_AuthorInfo

 
atAlessandra Torre is a USA Today Bestselling author who focuses on contemporary erotica. Her first book, Blindfolded Innocence, was published in July 2012, and was an Erotica #1 Bestseller for two weeks.
Alessandra lives in the gulf coast of Florida and is married, with one young child. She enjoys reading, spending time with her family, and playing with her dogs. Her favorite authors include Lisa Gardner, Gillian Flynn, and Jennifer Crusie.
 

   
Connect_BL

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Amazon Author Page

Hosted By:

CLP

Monday, August 25, 2014

Something Forever


Happy Release Day!

Something Forever by M. Clarke
SeriesSomething Great #3
Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Release Date: August 25th, 2014

A heated moment.

Desperate decision.

Life altering choices.

Max and Jenna are forced to test their relationship. Will they be able to embrace the challenges life throws their way?

Secrets can ruin the foundation of a relationship. Will Matthew choose to withhold vital information from Becky that could consume her with doubt about their future?

When it comes to love, Something Great can turn into Something Wonderful, but can it be Something Forever?



Purchase for $2.99 for a limited time!
B&N | Google Play | KOBO 





 







________________________________________________________________




________________________________________________________________




Mary Ting resides in Southern California with her husband and two children. She enjoys oil painting and making jewelry. Writing her first novel, Crossroads Saga, happened by chance. It was a way to grieve the death of her beloved grandmother, and inspired by a dream she once had as a young girl. When she started reading new adult novels, she fell in love with the genre. It was the reason she had to write one-Something Great. Why the pen name, M Clarke? She tours with Magic Johnson Foundation to promote literacy and her children’s chapter book-No Bullies Allowed.


Website † Facebook † GoodReads † Twitter † Instagram † Pinterest 
________________________________________________________________

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Release Blast: Be My Hero/ Surviving Love


Enter to Win
$25.00 Amazon Gift Card or
Ebook Copy of EACH Release



Eva Mercer’s a mess. She’s single, nineteen, seven months pregnant, and living off the good graces of her cousin. In the midst of a complete attitude overhaul—or at least trying to change—the last thing she wants to think about is men. She’s done with them. For good. Or at least she was until Pick.

For ten years, Pick Ryan has dreamed about this girl. He knows how she smells, what it’s like to hold her in his arms, how she tastes when he kisses her. But he’s never actually met her. He doesn’t even know her name. He just knows she’s the one. It’s his brand of luck that she would walk into the bar where he works on the very day he gets married to someone else.

Pick and Eva come from completely different worlds, and yet the connection they share draws them together too tightly to matter. Nothing can keep them apart—except maybe a three-month-old boy whose life depends on just that. And so, their love becomes forbidden.




REVIEW RATING: 5 LIGHTNING BOLTS

Review: I'm loving the Forbidden Men series! Now I'm kind of stuck on favorites- I loved Mason's story, but there's just something about a man who looks after and loves kids that aren't his own. It touches a special place in my heart. Pick had a rough upbringing, but his kindhearted ways end up costing him emotionally. But he wants to make the best of it.  Pick's situation is a little tricky, but I was drawn to him because of how he handles it.

Eva I've been following since the first book and I've been wary of her, but she's been through a lot, so in some ways I understand why she is the way she is sometimes. Seeing a different side to her in this book gave me a connection with her I didn't have before.  Watching these two get past their history and give in to a chance was wonderful. I loved seeing the previous characters as well, as they all tie in together well. I went through plenty of emotions reading this book and it kept me up way too late but I wouldn't have it any other way. Please author, bring on much much more!






I grew up on a dairy farm in the Midwest as the youngest of eight children. Now I live in Kansas with my husband, daughter, and our nine cuckoo clocks. My life's been blessed with lots of people to learn from and love. Writing's always been a major part my world, and I'm so happy to finally share some of my stories with other romance lovers.








What do you do when you find out you’re pregnant, your boyfriend rejects you, your sister is beaten half to death and the most annoyingly gorgeous man takes up residence in your house? Well ladies, there is only one thing to do, pull up your big girl knickers and show the world your middle finger.

Louise Beaumont is renowned for her sharp wit, smart mouth and sassy personality. She comes out swinging in an argument, even when she’s wrong. But even some events in life can knock her on her arse. And fighting through the sludge of emotional pressure she’s had poured over her is taking its toll.

Johan Senior is broken. A man with a deeply traumatic past, shadows and monsters haunt his every waking hour. That is until a heavenly angel is sent in the form of a loud mouthed chestnut haired vixen, who threatens his manhood countless times. But his heart grabs onto her and refuses to let her go. The only problem is, his mind needs to allow him the pleasure of human touch, and to take that terrifying step of allowing someone into his heart.

Part of the Surviving series but can be read as a standalone novel.









Hi! What to say about myself...I don't really have anything interesting to offer other than I love to read, and create stories for others to enjoy. I've always been told I have a vivid imagination, I just lacked the confidence to pursue putting it onto the the written page. But finally I embarked on making a single dream come true.

I love to read, and write. I only read romance, any genre really, but it has to have a beautiful romance. I also demand a HEA, even if it takes two or three books to get there. Reality is too broken and jaded without having to live through the trauma and angst in a book for it to end unhappily.